Jesus In Every Moment Emily Furda Jared Truscott

How Do You Wake Up?

Are you a morning person? If you are, you might not want to approach me before dawn (realistically, 9AM) unless you come bearing a Venti Café Mocha with raspberry. The wonderful chocolate coffee aroma will at least make me sit up. Once the caffeine kicks in, you may speak, but please speak slowly and use small words. I’m a night owl. So, if you want to chat at 9PM, let me know. I’m good for at least a few more hours. Regardless of our internal clocks, there is one thing we all have in common. At some point, we have to face the day.

Today’s blog was inspired by a friend of mine, Jared Truscott This was something he wrote on Facebook, and he graciously let me share it:

“Yesterday was a REALLY bad day. First thing at work had to pull some dudes battery in the pouring rain… I mean this is literally as soon as I opened the door. As soon as I did that, I noticed we had an oil leak on the floor. My associate and I had to clean up about 1 gallon of oil off the floor. Went to the bank in the afternoon for work, came out, and saw I had a flat tire!?!?!?! I had tons of customers calling me all afternoon at work to find parts for them. Dropped truck off at Monroe after work and walked home in the scorching sun wearing my work clothes (all black) and lugging a heavy satchel. Too hot to eat anything worth cooking, made bacon and eggs. Went to play some music, sound bar died. That was my day in a nutshell. It sucked. I went to bed. Then I woke up this morning and realized:

Yesterday was a really good day. Really helped some dude out in bind first thing in the morning. If cleaning up 1 gallon of oil is the worst thing that happens at work, I must really enjoy my job. Plus, it’s always cool to work with someone on a crappy task; builds teamwork. People calling me all day, is probably an indicator as to why I’m running a top performing store. A flat tire is like a $20 fix, plus I then got to enjoy a mile long walk on a warm beautiful afternoon down one of the nicest streets in the area. (Bonus: I get to do the same today, except it’s a cool beautiful afternoon).  I ate bacon. I was reminded that great music sounds beautiful regardless of the sound system it comes out of (OK, I won’t lie, I’m still angry about the sound system). Went to bed with a full belly, in a comfy bed, surrounded by four walls and a roof over my head. I woke up.”

He woke up.

That hit me. Jared showed me how to wake up. In every moment, there was something good in what seemed like something bad. That’s where Jesus was. When life feels overwhelming, this is one of my favorite verses to remember.

“But this I call to mind; therefore, I have hope: The Lord’s loyal kindness never ceases; his compassions never end. They are fresh every morning; your faithfulness is abundant! “My portion is the Lord,” I have said to myself, so I will put my hope in him.” Lamentations 3:21-24 NET

Our own personal “morning” isn’t restricted to the time on a clock. God’s kindness, compassion, and love for us never end. If something is going wrong, we don’t have to throw away the rest of the day, and wait for the next one. In that moment, we can wake up. We can ask God to show Himself to us and change our perspective.

Despite my disdain for being forced out of bed early in the morning, the song “Morning” from Morgan Harper Nichols is one of my favorites. I informed her a long time ago I take the lyrics metaphorically, even if it is my alarm clock tone on my phone. (Sorry Morgan, every time that alarm goes off I end up angry you for at least an hour because “you” wake me up and make me start my day earlier than I want to.) Click here to listen to it on YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s9ZV8Xtrr0o I hope it encourages you as much as it does me. (I highly recommend her whole album.) “Morning” reminds me Jesus is restoring me, and His love is always present. Even if something is going terribly wrong, He is at work doing something good. Even if I’m forced out of bed at the crack of dawn, there’s always coffee. (Seriously, someone please bring me that Venti Café Mocha with raspberry.)

While I wait for my coffee, I’ll ask you with the same question I had to ask myself:

Are you awake?

Emily Furda

Thank you for reading; I appreciate you! Please leave a comment, and let me know if this resonated with you in any way. If you’re a morning person, please let me know your secret! Also, let me know if there something you’d like me to cover in a future blog post.

For daily encouragement to help you find Jesus In Every Moment, you can find me on

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/JesusInEveryMoment/

Instagram: @JesusInEveryMoment

Twitter: @JesusThisMoment

One thought on “How Do You Wake Up?

Leave a Reply

