Jesus In Every Moment Blog Emily Furda

One Way You Can Change Someone’s Life

Do you ever wish you could leave a positive impact on someone that would last a lifetime? Sometimes when we see all the pain and heartache in the world around us we want to help, but feel powerless. What if you could change one person? What if it’s easier than you think?

I’m an extrovert by nature. I’m that person who will look up and smile when someone enters a room. If you don’t want me to at least say “hello,” don’t sit next to me. Most of the time I enjoy being a social butterfly because I like to make people smile. Wanting to make others feel good is part of who I am. I’m also one who hates being in a bad mood, and thankfully while I may have down moments, I’m not prone to horrible moods that last for hours or days. One particular Thursday morning was an exception. That week my entire world had been turned upside down as a result of a bad relationship. I was barely sleeping, and did I mention this was a Thursday MORNING? (I’m not exactly a fan of that time of day.) I had a doctor’s appointment, and if I could’ve canceled it, I would have. This even this ultra-extrovert wanted no part of interacting with people that day.

I had to drag myself to that appointment. I even bribed myself with the promise of a Venti Café Mocha with raspberry from Starbucks after the appointment since adults don’t get stickers. (What’s up with that? I mean you become an adult and suddenly no stickers? That’s so unfair.) I was in the tiny waiting room at a large clinic. On a good day that tiny room feels claustrophobic to me, but I still I try to think of it as an opportunity to socialize, or more like I have a captive audience. That day I would’ve given anything to have a seat in a large room hidden behind a potted plant so I could avoid all interactions. It was also the yearly “update all forms because someone likes to make work for the already swamped secretaries” day. Those forms are a special kind of misery.

Of course, the only available seat was next to the door, right where everyone would walk past me. There I was with my head down, my long curly red hair intentionally covering my face while I filled out paperwork, and suddenly a splash of color caught my eyes. I looked up for just a moment. A woman in her thirties being who was being pushed in her wheelchair came in the room. She was wearing bright pink and white tie dyed pants. They were awesome, but I was still in my bad mood, so I quickly went back to my sulking and filling out the forms of misery. The waiting room was full, and the only way her wheelchair could fit was for her to sit facing me about three feet away. I looked up, and at least tried to show a smile. Just because I was hurting didn’t mean I had to let my grumpy mood affect the whole room.

That’s when my life was about change. She looked at me and said very loudly “You’re pretty!” My self-esteem was at a low because of that unhealthy relationship I had just ended. I felt anything but pretty. As my face turned the shade of Heinz ketchup, I started to cry. Then she felt bad. I tried to explain I was crying happy tears, but she didn’t understand what that meant. She was still confused for a bit until I told her she made my entire day better. I’m not sure which one of us had the bigger smile. The joy radiating from her matched her bright pink pants.

She changed my life. Yes, it was nice to be complimented on my appearance, but that wasn’t the point. It was because she saw past my attempt to hide myself and made me realize I was seen for something more than my mood. God knew needed reminded that I was acceptable just as I was and didn’t have to change. When she took the time to compliment me, she gave me a Jesus moment by reminding me Jesus saw me and treasured me. She took time to make me feel important.

Making someone feel important changes a person’s life.

That woman was a living example of this verse:

“How delightful it is to see approaching over the mountains
the feet of a messenger who announces peace, a messenger who brings good news, who announces deliverance, who says to Zion, “Your God reigns!” How delightful it is to see approaching over the mountains the feet of a messenger who announces peace, a messenger who brings good news, who announces deliverance, who says to Zion, “Your God reigns!”
Isaiah 52:7 NET

I hoped I had the chance to see her again, because to me she was a messenger from God who brought good news. Three months later I was at the same clinic for my follow up appointment. When I walked across the parking lot a flash of color caught my eye. This time I had my head held high and was smiling. There she was at the bottom of the concrete ramp leaving the building wearing the same bright pink pants. I don’t think she remembered me, but I remembered her. This time I was the one to compliment her beautiful smile and awesome pants. As if God was trying to drive home a point about how He sees me, her reply was. “You’re pretty!”

She reminded me of how God sees each of us. He sees past the hurt, outward appearance, and grumpy moods to someone He created and loves.

God sees you as beautiful, inside and out.

God says you matter.

God says you are important.

Do you want to change someone’s life? Take time to show people they are important to you. Value them the way God values you. Ask God to open your eyes for opportunities to make someone feel valuable. Go out of your way to encourage a friend or even a stranger. Be a messenger who brings good news. When you change one person’s life, you just may end up changing the world.

Emily Furda

Has someone ever said something to you that completely turned your day around? What was it? Please leave a comment so we can connect. You’re important to me! Also, let me know if there’s something you’d like me to talk about in a future blog post.

4 thoughts on “One Way You Can Change Someone’s Life

  1. Linda says:

    This is a good Article Emily. Its so true. God is always showing us how important we are to Him and how much He loves us. It is important like you said for us to let God’s love work through us encouraging each other. You are so kind and sensitive to other’s feelings. You are very much a encourager letting God work through you. You make everyone feel important and that they matter. Your such a blessing! 🙂 Proverbs 11:25 kjv The generous man will be prosperous, And he who waters will himself be watered. God Bless you and heal you Emily in the blood of the Lamb. Love Linda
    ( SparkleGarden)

    Like

    • jesusineverymoment says:

      Linda, you just made my day! (I may have also cried. Apparently happy tears are kind of my thing.) Thank you for being such an encouragement to me! SparkleGarden is a perfect description foe tou! You sparkle!

      Like

  2. Edith says:

    This is beautiful! It may not be easy to look beyond ourselves when we are down, but if we can just take that chance, God will step in and offer us some comfort and He can do it through anyone or anything. Once I was ill, I began to take notice of things I’d never paid attention to like the brown earth, vegetation, the clouds (I actually spent time watching them). As God drew my attention to the beauty and order in nature, I was assured that though things seemed skewed in my life, God was in control of the entire universe (which includes little me) and He makes all things beautiful in His time.

    Like

    • jesusineverymoment says:

      Thank you Edith! That is beautiful! I love how you said you began to notice those things you used to just pass by and now you look for them. That is exactly the story behind “Jesus In Every Moment.” Part of it started with my own health struggles. Seeing Jesus in those small things does remind us He cares for us.
      You’re right, you matter to Him Edith! He cares about & for you. Thank you so much for sharing!
      Emily

      Like

Leave a Reply

